How do I decide the type of rubric to use?

Brightspace assists you in creating two types of rubrics:

Analytic Rubrics 

  1. Two-dimensional rubrics with levels of achievement as columns and assessment criteria as rows. 
  2. Assess learners’ achievements based on multiple criteria using a single rubric.
  3. Assign different weights (value) to different criteria and include an overall achievement by totaling the criteria.
  4. Analytic rubrics may use points, custom points, or text-only (letter grades) scoring methods.
  5. Points and custom points analytic rubrics may use both text and points to assess performance; with custom points, each criterion may be worth a different number of points.
  6. For both points and custom points, an overall score is provided based on the total number of points achieved.  The overall score determines whether the activity is achieved.

Holistic Rubrics

  1. Single criterion rubrics (one-dimensional) used to assess learners’ overall achievement on an activity or item based on predefined achievement levels.
  2. Holistic rubrics may use a percentages or text-only scoring method.

How to Create a Rubric 

  1. Go to Rubrics, found under the Assessments tab.
  2. On the Rubrics page, click New Rubric.
  3. In the General area, enter your rubric details (e.g., Name and Description).
  4. To associate your rubric with Competencies or the Brightspace ePortfolio, in the Advanced Availability section, select the Competencies or Brightspace ePortfolio check boxes.
  5. Click Save.  Then do one of the following:      If you created an analytic rubric, in the Levels and Criteria tab, edit your criteria and levels.
  • If you created a holistic rubric, in the Levels tab, edit your levels.
156 reads
How did you like this article?0001
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *